I was well informed through the whole process. I would definitely recommend this firm.

Kathy H.

I was well informed through the whole process. I would definitely recommend this firm.

Kathy H.

free consultation for injury cases

Nebraska Car Accident Laws to Know

A car accident can be a traumatic and confusing experience, and we’re here to provide guidance for you during this difficult time. When recovering from a car accident, you may find yourself facing many confusing state laws, and Nebraska’s can be just as confusing as others.

Read on to learn more about some of these car accident laws. Knowing what to expect before you take your claim to court can make a big difference in your claim. 

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

If you’re involved in a car accident, be sure that you stay at the scene of the accident. Even if the other driver seems fine, it can hurt your case and even lead to criminal charges if you’re found guilty of leaving the scene of an accident

You should instead stay at the scene until police officers or medical professionals arrive on the scene. If you leave before this, you may face a misdemeanor conviction, which can cost you thousands of dollars and even your license if the judge chooses to revoke it. 

Fault Determination Laws

Nebraska uses a modified contributory fault system when determining who is at fault for an accident. Under this system, both parties may be found partly at fault for the accident. That can reduce or even dismiss the compensation you’re due following an accident. 

The damages that you suffer from your injuries will be reduced by your share of responsibility, up to 50 percent.  If you’re found to be 50 percent at fault or more, then you cannot recover any damages.

Nebraska Car Accident Reporting Guidelines

After a car accident, you don’t have long to report your accident. The car accident claim process is meant to be swift, so you can spend more time focusing on your health and recovery. Because of this, you may need a lawyer’s help to act fast. Check out the list below to learn more about the regulations you may need to remember for your accident report: 

  • Timeline – Within ten days of an accident involving physical injury or with greater than $1,000 in property damage, you’re required to report it to the police and to the insurance company of the other driver. You also need to report your accident to your insurance carrier. 
  • Required Information – You’ll need to give your name, address, and driver’s license number. You should provide the other driver’s information as well as any passengers’ names and addresses. If there were witnesses at the scene of the accident, their information should also be provided to law enforcement officers. 
  • Where to Report Your Car Accident –  Your accident should be reported to the police station with jurisdiction over the crash site. Once your report is filed, you can get an official copy of your lawsuit. The preferred method is the Online Crash Report, but other options exist, and your lawyer can help with any of these. 

Know Your Legal Rights with a Car Accident Lawyer’s Aid 

Car accidents are complex, and without the right legal knowledge, it’s easy to make a misstep with your claim. 

That’s why seeking out a lawyer right away is so important. Please don’t hesitate to contact Conway, Pauley & Johnson P.C. for a free consultation, where we’ll review how these state laws can impact you. Call 402-462-5187 or complete the following online contact form. 


* All Fields Required

Or Call (402) 462-5187


906 W 2nd St #206, Hastings, NE 68901

GET DIRECTIONS Phone:(402) 462-5187 CONNECT


* All Fields Required